Rozzi announces members of Speaker’s Workgroup to Move Pennsylvania Forward

HARRISBURG, Jan. 12 – Speaker of the House Mark Rozzi today announced the members of the Speaker’s Workgroup to Move Pennsylvania Forward, who are tasked with finding a bipartisan agreement to end gridlock in the House:

I am pleased to announce the formation of the Speaker’s Workgroup to Move Pennsylvania Forward. The workgroup is charged with breaking the partisan gridlock and proposing a path forward for the House of Representatives to finally provide justice to survivors of childhood sexual abuse.   

As promised, the workgroup will consist of six members: three members from the Republican Caucus and three members from the Democratic Caucus. Each member represents varying interests and regions in the Commonwealth and has shown a commitment to principle over politics. While the workgroup does not include any members of caucus leadership, it is my hope that caucus leadership will continue their negotiations while this workgroup carries out its charge.

After consulting with leadership and rank-and-file members of both caucuses, the following esteemed members of the House have been selected for the Speaker’s Workgroup to Move Pennsylvania Forward: 

  • Rep. Paul Schemel, R-Franklin
  • Rep. Morgan Cephas, D-Phila.
  • Rep. Jason Ortitay, R-Allegheny/Washington
  • Rep. Peter Schweyer, D-Lehigh 
  • Rep. Valerie Gaydos, R-Allegheny 
  • Rep. Tim Briggs, D-Montgomery

The workgroup will organize on Tuesday, January 17th, and will meet regularly until a path forward is reached.