Neilson attends legislative panel at PA Motor Truck Association Conference

State Rep. Ed Neilson, majority chair of the House Transportation Committee, attended a legislative panel Wednesday at the Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association’s annual conference in Bedford, PA.  

Neilson was joined onstage by state Rep. Kerry Benninghoff, minority chair of the House Transportation Committee, and Senator Wayne Langerholc, majority chair of the Senate Transportation Committee. 

Neilson said he attended the conference to learn more about the trucking industry and its legislative needs. 

He recognized the importance of the trucking industry which provides over 300,000 jobs and transports over 400,000 tons per day in Pennsylvania.   

“It’s clear that trucking is a vital part of Pennsylvania’s economy,” Neilson said. “I want to do everything I can to make it safe for them to deliver goods and continue to serve the commonwealth in the way they do.”   

During the panel, Neilson highlighted the need to work in a bipartisan manner with his colleagues on both sides of the aisle to address Pennsylvania’s transportation needs. He is hopeful that the General Assembly will be able to work with Acting Secretary of Transportation Michael Carroll going forward. 

Neilson also discussed legislation that he is preparing to introduce alongside Benninghoff to remove the State Police from the Motor License Fund based on Gov. Josh Shapiro’s proposal. In his first budget address, Shapiro proposed reducing the $500 million transfer from the Motor License Fund to the State Police by $100 million per year for the next five years, with the goal of reaching $0 by Fiscal Year 2027-28.  

This would provide an additional $1.5 billion cumulatively over the next five years for road and bridge projects in Pennsylvania. The House Transportation Committee recently held an informational meeting on removing the State Police from the Motor License Fund. 

“We all want Pennsylvania to have a safe and accessible transportation network,” Neilson said. “I look forward to working with Chairman Benninghoff, Chairman Langerholc, and Chairman Flynn as well as the Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association to best serve the needs of all Pennsylvanians.”