McNeill offers response to Stay at Home Order for Lehigh County

HARRISBURG, March 25 -- State Rep. Jeanne McNeill, D-Lehigh, issued the following response after Gov. Tom Wolf and Department of Health Secretary Dr. Rachel Levine added Lehigh County to the governor’s Stay at Home order.

“These are decisions that are difficult but needed to mitigate the impact of COVID-19, and I support the action taken today by Governor Wolf and Secretary Levine,” McNeill said. “We see the numbers continuing to rise and understand the importance of doing what we all can to protect our communities and commonwealth.”

The Stay at Home order now includes 10 counties: Allegheny, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Erie, Lehigh, Monroe, Montgomery, Northampton and Philadelphia. The amended order for Lehigh and Northampton counties takes effect at 8 p.m. Wednesday, March 25 and will continue until April 6.

The full Stay at Home Order is available to view here. Guidance on permitted activities under the order is available here.

“The important thing in the coming days and weeks is that we do our part to slow the spread,” McNeill said. “We need to stay home, stay safe and ask ourselves before leaving if that trip outside of our homes is really essential.”