Youngblood recognizes police bravery with House resolution

HARRISBURG, Jan. 21 – State Rep. Rosita C. Youngblood, D-Phila., announced that H.R. 648 was adopted by the House today. The resolution recognizes the bravery and professionalism of the Philadelphia Police Department during the nearly 8-hour standoff on Aug. 14, 2019. 

“These heroic men and women went into the line of fire and risked their own lives in order to save the lives of others. It is because of the courage and expertise of the Philadelphia Police Department that no civilians were injured in the standoff – not even the suspect,” Youngblood said. “Their patience and fearlessness should be the standard for police departments across the country. These officers are true heroes who sacrifice their own safety for the community every day.”

Youngblood’s resolution specifically celebrates the bravery of officers Joshua Burkitt, Michael Guinter, Shaun Parker, Nathaniel Harper, Ryan Waltman and Justin Matthews, who were all injured during the standoff.