Probst begins first term in PA House of Representatives

HARRISBURG, Jan. 3 – During a noon ceremony at the state Capitol, Rep. Tarah Probst today was sworn in to begin her first term in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives.

“I am overjoyed by the trust that my neighbors have given to me to serve on their behalf in Harrisburg. I am excited to get to work and I look forward to making real change for the betterment of our area,” Probst said.

“My Stroudsburg office is open and ready to help people navigate state programs and address their concerns.”

Her main office is located at 18 S. 9th St., Stroudsburg, 18360-1630. The phone number is 570-420-2850. Office hours are 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

In order to better serve the northern part of the district, Probst said she plans to offer satellite office hours inside the Lehman Township Municipal Building and Delaware Township Municipal Building in Pike County as well as in Middle Smithfield Township, Monroe County. The days and hours are to be determined.

Residents can stay up to date by following her on Facebook @RepProbst and signing up for email updates on her website

Probst said her priorities include good jobs, fighting for fair funding for public schools and lower property taxes, making sure health care is affordable and accessible for everyone, protecting a woman’s right to choose, ensuring clean air and clean water, and being responsive to the residents of Monroe and Pike counties.

Probst is one of eight freshwomen and 26 new members in the House Democratic Caucus, which now boasts 35 women and 34 people of color. Each member represents approximately 64,000 residents.

The 189th District includes part of Monroe County consisting of Middle Smithfield (District East), Smithfield and Stroud (Districts 01, 03, 06 and 07) townships and Delaware Water Gap, East Stroudsburg and Stroudsburg; and part of Pike County consisting of Delaware, Lehman and Porter townships.