Bullock announces PLBC scholarship awardees

HARRISBURG, June 21 – State Rep. and PLBC Chair Donna Bullock, D-Phila., this week announced the awardees of the James R. Roebuck Pennsylvania Legislative Black Caucus Scholarship for 2022.

A virtual award ceremony will take place at 10 a.m. Thursday, June 23. It can be viewed here: https://pahouse.com/PLBC/2022Scholarships or on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/PALegislativeBlackCaucus.

The scholarship recipients, their hometowns and the colleges or universities they are attending:

Mikeiyah Bennett, Pittsburgh, Temple University

Jasmine Easley, Upper Darby, St. John’s University

Ryan Ellison, Wyncote, Duquesne University

Mikel Hackel, Elkins Park, North Carolina A & T

Brianna Mobley, Philadelphia, North Carolina A & T

Joy Richardson, Philadelphia, no college listed

Stephanie Toledo, Penbrook, Shippensburg University

Grace Walker, McKeesport, North Carolina A & T

Cameron West, Philadelphia, Hampton University

Daianna Williams, Philadelphia, Louisiana State University

Criteria for the $1,000 scholarships:

  • A Pennsylvania resident.
  • A person of color.
  • A graduating high school senior or current undergrad at a college or university.
  • Plan to enroll/return in full-time undergraduate study at an accredited two- or four-year college or university for the entire upcoming academic year.

Students are also selected based on their academic success, leadership, extracurricular activities, community participation and financial need.

“Providing some of our best and brightest students with financial help for the already exorbitant costs of college is something the PLBC is proud to do through our foundation,” Bullock said. “We want to find a way to make sure the costs of going to college don’t become a barrier to actually attending college for students who are qualified and want to be there. We’re helping to shape the leaders of the future and should do our part at every turn.”

In 2021, the scholarship was renamed the James R. Roebuck Pennsylvania Legislative Black Caucus Scholarship after former state Rep. Jim Roebuck of Philadelphia. He is a former chairman of the House Education Committee and former member of the PLBC who represented the 188th Legislative District in the Pennsylvania House of Representatives from 1985-2020.