Merski, Harkins unanimously re-elected to Northwest Delegation leadership roles

Merski will continue as chairman; Harkins elected secretary

ERIE, Nov. 15 – State Reps. Bob Merski and Pat Harkins, both D-Erie, were unanimously elected today to continue in leadership roles in the state House’s Northwest Democratic Delegation, with Merski re-elected to serve as chairman and Harkins elected to serve as secretary for the 2023-24 legislative session.

Both lawmakers said they plan to continue steering the delegation in ways that will help the region’s working families.

“It is an honor to be unanimously chosen to lead the Northwest Delegation as chairman,” Merski said. “We are ready to work for the region and the commonwealth to deliver for workers, families, seniors and businesses. The northwest region is the farthest from Harrisburg, but we are a strong voice collectively for the people of northwest Pennsylvania.”

Harkins said, “We are anxious to get to work with Governor Josh Shapiro and to go to bat for the people of the commonwealth, and particularly the Erie region. Issues affecting our region’s working men and women, including job safety and working conditions, will be among our top priorities.”

In addition to Merski and Harkins, the Northwest Delegation includes state Reps. Frank Burns, D-Cambria, who was unanimously elected to serve as treasurer, and state Rep.-Elect Paul Takac, D-Centre, who was unanimously elected to serve as vice chair.

The delegation is a coalition of House lawmakers representing Erie and northwest Pennsylvania.

Merski has been serving as chairman since February 2022, while Harkins previously served as treasurer.