House Democrats elect leaders for upcoming legislative session

HARRISBURG, Nov. 12 – The 90 members of the House Democratic Caucus who won election last week to serve during the 2021-22 session today chose their caucus leaders. Due to the high risk of Covid-19 transmission a number of lawmakers participated in the meeting virtually.

Rep. Joanna McClinton today made Pennsylvania history, becoming the first woman elected to serve as a minority leader in the House or Senate. With 32 women serving in the upcoming session, more than one-third of the new House Democratic Caucus are women.

The leadership team chosen today consists of:

Democratic Leader Joanna McClinton. A member of the House since 2015, McClinton represents the 191st District in parts of Philadelphia and Delaware County and served as caucus chair in the current session.

Democratic Whip Jordan Harris. Continuing in his role as whip, Harris first won election to the House in 2012 and he represents the 186th District in Philadelphia.

Democratic Appropriations Chairman Matt Bradford. Continuing in his role as Appropriations Committee chairman, Bradford first won election to the House in 2008 and represents the 70th District in Montgomery County.

Caucus Chair Dan Miller. A member of the House since 2013, Miller represents the 42nd District in Allegheny County and chaired the Allegheny County Delegation in the current session.

Caucus Secretary Tina Davis. A member of the House since 2010, Davis represents the 141st District in Bucks County.

Caucus Administrator Mike Schlossberg. A member of the House since 2012, Schlossberg represents the 132nd District centered on the city of Allentown in Lehigh County.

Democratic Policy Chairman Ryan Bizzarro. A member of the House since 2012, Bizzarro represents the 3rd District in Erie County and served as chief deputy whip in the current session.