Ciresi announces nearly $190K in fire and EMS company grants

HARRISBURG, Feb. 10 – State Rep. Joe Ciresi announced today that the fire and emergency medical services companies in the 146th District have been awarded $189,975 through the Fire Company and Emergency Medical Services Grant Program.

“Our fire and EMS companies daily put their lives on the line to save ours, especially during the pandemic,” Ciresi said. “As our fire and EMS services have suffered doubly from the impact of both the pandemic and weakened financial circumstances, they will be bolstered by the injection of these necessary funds so they can continue providing essential and often lifesaving services to our communities.”

The fire and EMS companies in the 146th District that have been awarded grants in the following amounts are:

  • Empire Hook & Ladder Co. 1 – $15,000
  • Friendship HLH&A Inc. – $8,325
  • Goodwill Steam Fire Engine Co. No. 1 – $23,325
  • Limerick Fire Department – $30,000
  • North End Fire Co. No. 1 of Pottstown – $15,000
  • Perkiomen Township Fire Co. 1 – $15,000
  • Philadelphia Steam Fire Engine Co. 1 – $15,000
  • Ringing Hill Fire Co. – $15,000
  • Royersford Fire Department – $15,000
  • Sanatoga Fire Co. – $15,000
  • Trappe Fire Co. No. 1 – $23,325

“Fire companies and emergency medical services companies throughout the commonwealth continue to deal the negative impacts the COVID-19 pandemic,” Acting State Fire Commissioner Thomas Cook said.  “Increased call volume, rising costs, and revenue loss have each made operations more difficult for our first responders. As such, our office is pleased to help get financial assistance into communities across the state.”

The Fire Company and Emergency Medical Services Grant Program is administered by the Office of State Fire Commissioner and makes an annual grant program available for volunteer and career fire companies, emergency medical services and rescue squads. 

All fire companies, emergency medical services, and volunteer rescue squads are eligible to apply for this annual grant program.