Davis announces more than $160,000 in fire, EMS grants

HARRISBURG, March 19 – State Rep. Austin Davis, D-Allegheny, announced the award of more than $160,000 in state grants to 13 fire and ambulance companies in the 35th Legislative District.

“These grants will provide crucial funding to ensure that our local firefighters and EMS workers have what they need to carry out their life-saving work,” Davis said. “The funding will provide for equipment, training and other resources that are so important to their safety and the safety of our community.”

The grant list – by county, department and entity – is as follows:

City of McKeesport Fire Department – Fire Company, $14,770
Clairton Volunteer Fire Department – Fire Company, $12,000
Coulter Volunteer Fire Company & Relief Inc.  – Fire Company, $11,911
Duquesne Volunteer Fire Department – Fire Company, $12,833
Lincoln Borough Volunteer Fire & Rescue Company No. 1 – Fire Company, $13,754
McKeesport Ambulance Rescue Service – EMS, $7,037
Munhall Area Prehospital Services – EMS, $7,037
Munhall Volunteer Fire Company No. 2 – Fire Company, $23,227
Munhall Volunteer Fire Company No. 1 – Fire Company, $13,201
Rainbow Volunteer Fire Company – Fire Company, $12,649
Versailles Volunteer Fire Company No. 1 Inc. – Fire Company, $11,543
White Oak Emergency Medical Service – EMS, $7,037
White Oak Volunteer Fire Company No. 1 – Fire Company, $13,386

The grants are made possible by the Fire Company and Volunteer Ambulance Service Grant Program, which is administered by the Office of the State Fire Commissioner. In addition to funding equipment and training, the money can be used for repairing, building or renovating facilities and for repaying debt related to equipment purchases or facility building and maintenance.

Davis noted that recipients must complete and return original signed copies of their grant agreements by May 31 in order to receive the funds. He urged any department that needs help with this requirement to contact his White Oak Office at (412) 664-0035; his Munhall Office at (412) 476-3046; or his Clairton Office at (412) 233-2505.